Yaw Boadu-Ayeboafoh chairs NMC; new members sworn in


New members of the National Media Commission [NMC], were on Friday, November 30, 2018, sworn into office by  Justice Julius Ansah, a Justice of Supreme Court.

The Commission is chaired by the immediate past Director of Newspapers at the Graphic Communications Group Limited, (GCGL), Mr. Yaw Boadu-Ayeboafoh.

Boadu-Ayeboafoh was elected as Chairman at a meeting of the re-constituted Commission.

Speaking on behalf of the newly sworn in members of the ninth Commission, Deputy General Secretary of the Ghana Bar Association [GBA], Williams Oduro, pledged their resolve to ensure the continuity of media freedom.

“We will do all that we can to let media practitioners know of their responsibilities so that the press freedom we are enjoying is not taken away from us because there are a lot of things that need to be checked,” he added.

Members of NMC

The Commission is made up of 18 members.

The members of the re-constituted commission are Nii Addokwei Moffatt representing the Ghana Association of Writers, Rev. Dr. Mrs Comfort Asare, National Council of Women and Development, Mr. Yaw Buabeng Asamoah, Member of Parliament,  Kwame Anyimadu-Antwi, Parliament, Mr. Richard Mawuli Quashigah, Parliament, Mr. William Orleans Oduro, Ghana Bar Association, Mr. Prince Hari Crystal, Ghana Independent Broadcasters Association, and Nana Addo Gyau Akabisa II, Ghana National Association of Teachers.

Others are Mr. Roland Affail Monney, President, Ghana Journalists Association, Mr. Bright Blewu, Ghana Journalists Association, Dr. Andy Ofori-Birikorang, Training Institutions and Communicators, Joseph Debrah-Gyamfi, Trades Union Congress – Ghana, Hajj Muhammed Amir Kpakpo Addo, Muslim Group, Sir Benedict Batabe Assorow, Christian Group, Mr. Elorm Edward Desewu, Private Newspaper Publishers Association of Ghana, and Ms Elaine Sam, Institute of Public Relations of Ghana, Mr. Yaw Boadu-Ayeboafoh, Office of President, and Mr. Yaw Sarpong Boateng, Office of President.

The key administrative staff at the NMC Secretariat are Mr. George Sarpong, Executive Secretary, Mr. Alexander Katey Bannerman, Deputy Executive Secretary, and Ms. Paula Sanziri, an Administrative Officer.

The objectives of the National Media Commission (NMC), includes improving transparency and public access to information, mainstream development communication across the public sector and policy cycle, enhancing the capacity of the media for enhanced development communication, accountability and press freedom.

The overall goal is to promote free, independent and responsible media so as to sustain democracy and national development.

Their core functions include the establishment and maintenance of the highest journalistic standards in the mass media, including the investigation, mediation and settlement of complaints made against or by the press or other mass media.

By: citinewsroom.com | Ghana (with additional files from Graphic Online)