Morocco’s Hakimi, Lekjaa, Renard Winners of 2018 CAF Awards

Moroccan football team player Achraf Hakimi, Morocco’s head coach Herve Renard, and president of the Royal Moroccan Football Federation Fouzi Lekjaa.

Rabat – CAF awarded Morocco’s head coach Herve Renard “Men’s Coach of the Year” and Moroccan football team player Achraf Hakimi “Youth Player of the Year,”

CAF also awarded Fouzi Lekjaa, president of the Royal Moroccan Football Federation (FRMF), “Federation President of the Year “

The CAF Awards ceremony took place this evening in Dakar, Senegal. CAF President Ahmad Ahmad arrived in Senegal to participate in the ceremony.

Read Also: Morocco’s Hakimi, Renard Among Finalists in 2018 CAF Awards

Renard was competing for the best coach award against Senegalese coach Aliou Cisse and Tunisia’s Mouine Chaabani.

A masterful coach, Renard has won two Africa Cup of Nations (CAN) championships, one with Zambia in 2012 and one with Cote d’Ivoire in 2015.

Renard has also achieved great performances with the Atlas Lions, especially in the 2018 World Cup qualifiers. The head coach and his Atlas Lions also qualified to the 2019 CAN.

Atlas Lion’s star Hakimi was competing for the best young player against AC Milan midfielder Frank Kissie and Nigeria’s Wilfred Ndidi.

Hakimi, who plays with Dortmund on loan from Real Madrid, is the fastest footballer in the German league with a speed of 35.10 kilometers per hour, according to Kicker.

Last month, the International Centre for Sports Studies (CIES) ranked Hakimi the top fullback in the European leagues in the previous three months. He outperformed several stars with a score of 85.3.

Mohamed Salah, ‘Player of the Year’

CAF awarded Egypt’s Mohamed Salah, who plays for Liverpool, “Player of the Year.”

South Africa’s Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana, who plays for Houston Dash, won two prizes: Women’s Player of the Year” and “Goal of the Year.” Her fellow country women Desiree Ellis won “Women’s Coach of the Year” award.

Mauritania received “Men’s National Team of the Year” and Nigeria won “Women’s National Team of the Year.”