Morocco-Dominican Republic: Exemption of Tourist, Business Visas


Rabat – The Dominican Republic is now on the list of countries Moroccans can visit visa-free.

Moroccan Foreign Minister Nasser Bourita and his counterpart in the Dominican Republic signed an agreement allowing nationals of both countries to travel the territory of the other party without tourist and business visas.

This agreement specifies the conditions that the travelers must hold valid passports. Additionally, the travel must be for tourist or business purposes.

Read Also: Dominican Republic Reiterates Support for Morocco’s Territorial Integrity

Dominicans and Moroccans may stay in the territory of the other party for a period of up to 60 days. However, this period is renewable for another 60 days. The total duration of the stay can not legally exceed 120 days in one year.

Other visa-free countries for Moroccans include: Algeria, Benin, Cote d’Ivoire, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea, Mali, Niger, Sao Tomé and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Tunisia, Barbados, Belize, Brazil, Ecuador, Grenada, Haiti, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Indonesia, South Korea, Malaysia, Philippines, Turkey, Hong Kong, Micronesia, Vanuatu, Cook Islands and Niue.

The 2019 Passport Index ranked Morocco at 71 for its mobility, as its citizens may travel visa-free to 31 countries, may receive a visa upon entry in 40 countries, but still require a visa for 127 countries.

According to the site, 173 is considered the most “powerful” passport in the world. That score currently belongs to the UAE.