Support, Don’t Interfere: Royal Orders to Moroccan FM on Libyan Dialogue


King Mohammed VI has instructed Moroccan diplomacy to support the Libyan dialogue without interference, said Morocco’s Minister of Foreign Affairs, Nasser Bourita.

“The instructions of His Majesty King Mohammed VI concerning the Libyan dialogue hosted by Morocco are clear and consist of supporting the Libyan parties in the dialogue without imposing solutions,” Bourita declared in a recent interview with Sky News Arabia.

[embedded content]

Morocco’s top diplomat reiterated the country’s position on the Libyan conflict, which includes three main points.

FIrst, Morocco believes the solution to the crisis must be peaceful, rather than military. Second, Moroccan diplomacy supports a political solution that ensures the legitimacy of future Libyan governments. Finally, Morocco believes the solution must come from Libyans themselves, through negotiation, without any foreign interference.

“The foreign policy adopted by the Kingdom […] is based on clarity, ambition, and transparency,” Bourita said.

Read also: 2nd Inter-Libyan Dialogue in Morocco Yields ‘Comprehensive Agreements’

The interview, which came a few days after the Libyan dialogue in Bouznika, Morocco, presented an opportunity for the Moroccan foreign minister to present some of the discussions’ outcomes.

The dialogue session, which took place from October 2-6, brought together representatives from the Tripoli-based High Council of State and the Tobruk-based House of Representatives with the aim of finding mutually-acceptable solutions to the Libyan crisis.

“Morocco has interacted with the will of Libyans to dialogue and they, themselves, have chosen to meet in Bouznika,” Bourita said.

The Libyan delegations reached agreements on the criteria and mechanisms for appointments to sovereign leadership positions.

The positions are mentioned in Article 15 of the 2015 Skhirat Agreement, signed in Morocco. They include the Governor of the Central Bank of Libya, the Head of the Audit Bureau, the Head of the Administrative Oversight Authority, the Head of the Anti-corruption Authority, the Head and members of the High National Electoral Commission, the Head of the Supreme Court, and the Public Prosecutor.